Ally offering childbirth classes - feedback? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 08-15-2012, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi all! My name is Danielle and I'm an ally in the Denver area. I'm a certified Bradley Method instructor (and mama of three girls!) and I love a lot of what the method has to offer. What I DON'T love are terms like "husband" and "coach" and various other things (certain videos) that I'm sure keep many people, including queer expectant mamas, from taking classes like mine. I recently started thinking of offering a separate class (queer parents and allies only to ensure a safe space) with a few tweaks but otherwise the same Bradley Method that is awesome in preparing partners to work together for an unmedicated birth experience, but not awesome sometimes in its approach (in my opinion). If you have a moment to offer some feedback, I would LOVE to know:

1. What childbirth prep options are there, that you feel comfortable with, in your area?

2. Does this idea appeal to you at all?

3. Where and how would you want to see this advertised? Feel free to be specific and honest.

4. What have you heard, if anything, about the Bradley Method specifically? And do you think it could be something you'd be interested in? Again, be honest and specific.

Thanks, in advance, for any feedback you'd like to offer. I love what I do and I'm worried that it's just not accessible, and I believe it could be!

#2 of 4 Old 08-15-2012, 01:23 PM

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)