The "Golly Gee Whillikers I wish I'd known that" thread.... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 01-02-2013, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, and was encouraged by the women over in Queer Conceptions to start a new thread to get the wisdom of those TTC, those currently pregnant, and those thrilled mamas. There were a few folks who chimed in to say they would also be interested in the conversation.

I had no idea what to title this, since I certainly don't want to sound judgey with a "things I would do differently" or "do-over" thread.  So mods, feel free to editorialize as needed.

My wife (34) and I (38) are about to start TTC, and we have been ravenously reading everything we can to learn more about the best process and how to optimize our chances (ironically enough she's a PhD specializing in biological development - just wasn't focused on the human kind). We've had 3 separate meetings with our (very LGBT-friendly) doctor, have picked out our (frozen, WTBK) donor, and have set up a meeting with an in-home midwife to start planning for our first IUI at the end of February.  We have the "Ultimate Guide to Pregnancy for Lesbians" book (I keep emailing with Maia and they've been saying Stephanie Brill's new book is coming out in May 2012. Then Nov 2012. Not sure where they're at now). 

Although I'm 38, I'll be carrying, and have been charting as well as evaluating CM (although for the love of Mike, I don't know how y'all touch your cervix so easy.  Is this board part Cirque de Soleil?!?).