Wills, Power of Attorney, and alla that Legal Mumbo-Jumbo - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hey, I was wondering if anyone had any input on legal parenty stuff in the states. My wife and I are not getting a domestic partnership yet, nor are we doing adoption yet, because we are low income and it would affect our ability to get free insurance for the kids and it would lower our tax returns greatly. We do want to make sure we have some protection though--what we are thinking is that we will each write a will saying that the kids we birthed would go to each other, and also each fill out a power of attorney for each kid (so that if something happens while the birth mom is away the other of us can make medical decisions). Does anyone know about the legality of this? I think it will be good for now, but I am new to this legal mumbo-jumbo. We are hoping we can find a simple will form and also power of attorney to print off and fill out for free, and then get them notarized (bc that's just like 10$ a copy, and makes them legal--that's what we did with our donor agreement).

With DW partners.gif, DD1peace.gif(15), & DD2guitar.gif(11) since '09. Naturally birthed DD3 ecbaby2.gif6/21/13. We familybed1.gif, I bftoddler.gif and I'm a total treehugger.gif.  Family of five females! grouphug.gifrainbow1284.gifLOVE makes a family.             M/C candle.gif 2/10 ~Ahti Pan, forever in my heart.
#2 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 11:38 AM

Quoted: 18 Post(s)

The problem with just writing a will naming each other as guardians is that judges are not required to treat that as binding - it's a preference, but the judge will act in the best interests of the kids.  Depending on where you live, that could just about guarantee the children stay with your partner, or it could just about guarantee the opposite.