Can't get approval for At Home ICI or IUI! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 08-27-2013, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello! This is my first time posting - ever! I've read through many threads and having seen so many wonderful, supportive comments, decided to try my luck. My wife and I have decided to take the plunge into parenthood! I am already a parent to a wonderful little girl from a previous relationship, but we're ready to extend our family. 

The problem? We cannot, for the lives of us, seem to find a doctor, OB/GYN, Midwife or anyone willing to sign off on an at home insemination. Everyone (I'm talking my regular GP and OB/GYN as well as at least 10 other practices) demand that the insemination happen in office. This is simply not what we want. I am reaching out here, in somewhat frustration and desperation, to see if anyone in the VA or DC area has recommendations. We have found a donor via a cryobank and have a kit all ready to go. The only thing we need at this point in for a doctor to sign off on us to pick up the vials from the bank and go make a baby!

So please, if you have any recommendations for us, I would really appreciate it. We're so excited to have come to this decision and cannot wait to grow our family!

#2 of 11 Old 08-28-2013, 12:50 AM

I wish I had a name for you, how frustrating! You probably thought of this already but just in case, did you try reaching out to the sperm bank (or any bank) to see if they have a list of providers in your area who have signed off on deliveries for others? I know, for example, when a new provider is first registered with TSBC, they are asked whether they want to be included in a referral directory for future clients. You might try contacting TSBC even if that isn't your bank. Good luck!!

My wife (30) and I (32) have been legally married since 2006. We are proud queer mamas to baby W, born 10/10/2013.
#3 of 11 Old 08-28-2013, 05:22 PM