Desperately need advice on juggling parenting my Son and keeping my girlfriend/relationship happy - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 10-24-2013, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi all firstly thank you for welcoming me into this group , i am in desperate need of advice i'm so sad and upset at my partner at what i perceive to be an incredibly selfish attitude toward my son and my parenting choices.

My Girlfriend and i have been attempting to be together for over two years. Due to my long and complicated divorce form my ex, being in Texas and being a foreigner  i have felt very very vulnerable and following legal advice we have been taking things slowly postponing moving in together until i have the final decree of my divorce.

In the midst of all this my girlfriend found a house to rent that is perfect for all of us. Even though i made no promise as to when i could move in , and was clear that it would have to be after the decree she rented the house  because she wanted to paint and get it ready for all of us. Extremely sweet sentiments and i was so touched. I could really see our lives take shape.

However in the last couple of moths as we are getting down to the wire with the divorce she has been increasingly impatient. She has been downright grumpy and all we seem to do is argue. When my son is with my ex we used to make love , now all we do is argue. I have gotten her to agree to go to therapy as i want to deal with all the stress of waiting before we finally blend our family, but it doesn't seem to be helping.