Relationship Help? How to maintain one when you are a full-time single mama - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 12-18-2013, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I met my girlfriend almost a year ago. My son was seven at the time and his dad lives 16 hours away. I am a freelance photographer and I homeschool my child, so my life is REEEEEEEEEEALLLLLY hectic. I have him 24/7, with the exception of one week in the fall, a week at Christmas, a week in the spring and six weeks in the summer. We have a fantastic (but busy) community and the only family member I can rely on to keep DH occasionally is my sister but she's super busy with her own family. GF and I hit it off when we met and I was (am) madly attracted to her, but at the time I felt like I shouldn't be dating. We got to know each other over the course of a few months and she kept gently trying to let me know that she wanted this, that she was ready to take on our crazy lives, etc, etc, etc. Fast forward almost a year and we have been dating solid for about eight months now. My DH ADORES her. I was in a relationship for 4 years prior to this and he never, EVER bonded with my ex the way he does GF. I love her like crazy, life is amazing between the three of us...most of the time. On occasion, she gets into these moods where she is super whiny, needy and selfish. I know that she mourns the fact that she couldn't have a "normal" courtship with me but I warned her coming into this.