Would any couple write birth stories for a research paper? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 10-08-2005, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,

My name is Michelle. I have not ben to this forum since last year some time. I am a student Midwife and I am looking for some couples who would be willing to share birth stories from pregnant mother's point of view and from the partner's point of view.
I would like to get a narrative birth story and then also some specific questions answered.
Please pm me, if you are interested. It would be time consuming, and well appreciated. It would be confidential, unless I was given permission to publish stories and names, places could be changed, etc.
I am interested in the following:

1. Did you take Child Birth Education classes together as partners/ couple?
2. If you did, did the class prepare you for the labor and birth? Or were you surprised by what your laboring partner really went through?
3. Did childbirth class prepare you for how the relationship would change once baby had arrived?
4. While your partner was in labor did any birth attendant or staff member (doula, nurse, midwife, doctor, etc) acknowledge your needs as a member of a newly emerging family and/or ask if they could help any need of yours? ie.: Did anyone ask: "Have you gotten anything to drink?" "Do you need something to eat?" "Do you have any questions?" Offer emotional support in the way of a smile, reassuring pat on the shoulder...... etc.
5. Did you feel your family was treated differently based on gender role, sexual orientation? Were staffmember careful to traet you well or were they visibly unnerved?

I know these questions are very personal and I hope are not offensive.

Hospital staff tend in my experience (12 years working at 4 different hospitals in Florida) to be very (negatively) judgmental and treat minority, gay/lesbians very differently than they treat most of their clients/patients.