Telling my 11 year old daughter I am a lesbian - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 01-28-2006, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
How do I go about telling my 11 year old daughter I am a lesbian? I was married to her father for 22 years, and within the past year came out to him, and my family. I am in a really good relationship with a woman who has met my daughter. They both get along really great. I am a registered nurse and have always known I was gay, but tried to "do the right thing" and married (a man), had 2 beautiful children (11 & 21), and spent 22 of the most unhappy years of my life with my husband. I love my children. My 22 year old son knows I am gay and doesn't want anything to do with me. I don't know if he will ever understand, but he says he will talk to me when he is ready and that the information just "hurts too much right now." I haven't told my 11 year old daughter yet, and would like any information I can get on how to tell her so that it might not be so devistating to her. She lives with her dad right now, but wants to be with me and will be spending the summer with me, and possibly the rest of her school years with me and my partner. I just want her to know about me, as she will find out one day anyway, and I want to be the one to tell her. I love her so much and want this to have a positive outcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 11 Old 01-29-2006, 12:23 AM

NAK - I don't have any answers for you, but could not read and not reply. Good luck to you!

Mommy to a wonderfully passionate little one
#3 of 11 Old 01-29-2006, 10:22 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks for your response Susannah M. Hopefully, out of all the readers of this thread, someone will be able to share some ideas and shine some hope on my situation.
#4 of 11 Old 01-29-2006, 10:22 PM