Non-Bio Parent Support Thread - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-14-2008, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone!

I thought I'd start a support thread for all the non-biological parents and parents-to-be. So if your partner is pregnant or trying to get pregnant or recently gave birth to your baby, please join in the discussion!

I am very new at this myself. My wife, Lena, is just barely pregnant with our fourth baby. I carried our other three kids, and our new bean has the same donor as they do. It is very different feeling to be expecting but not be pregnant myself. And since I'm a terrible pregnant person (horrendously ill, etc.), so far I like things much better this way! But of course I also feel a little lost and unsure about my connection to our little embryo.

Lex

Mindfully mothering SIX kids (ages 5, 6, 8, 9, 11 & 11) in a small house with a lot of love.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-14-2008, 02:51 PM

Hello and Congrats! That is awesome news for you and Lena. Being a non-bio mom for almost a year (!) now, I can definitely provide some insight and would enjoy discussing non-bio mama stuff. So far my only complaint is that I get asked if I'm the aunt by a lot of medical professionals, but hey, some non-bio moms get asked if they are grandma, so I guess I'm doing alright.

Mama (non-bio) to REPlaySkateboard04HL.gifmy little man (6), and mama (bio) to babyboy.gif my tiny man (2/14)
Old 10-14-2008, 04:07 PM

moi!

5.5 years and counting. Hoping to be mothering two in the somewhat near future.

In a way, I have both lots to say and nothing to say about being the non-bio mom. Probably because it's so much just a part of who I am now. It was definitely hard at first. Really hard (when Q was born, that is). I'll be back with more. Trying to do my "real work"......hah!

megin

Mommy to an amazing 8 year old, wife to an inspiring principal, and welcoming Wylie Grace! Our July 4th babe!