skirt patterns? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 08-29-2007, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just got my first sewing machine a couple days ago , and I'm hoping to make myself some skirts. I want something simple to make (I am not experienced at all!), A-line, about knee-length. I would prefer free patterns, but I don't mind spending a little bit for a pattern I will use over and over. Anyone have anything good? Thanks, mamas!

Sarah , wife to Tyson :, SAHM to Landon (5), Coleson (3), and new baby boy due any day!

#2 of 13 Old 09-05-2007, 12:36 PM

:

"Tis the gift to be simple, 'tis the gift to be free, 'tis the gift to come down where you ought to be."
#3 of 13 Old 09-05-2007, 01:41 PM

Check out the sewing boards on www.craftster.org ! Lots of free tutorials for cool skirts.
#4 of 13 Old 09-05-2007, 02:05 PM

I don't know if this is your style, but I started making my daughter tiered skirts. I think they are SO easy. I got directions free off the internet by googling Tiered skirt and gathering.

If you are not experienced "at all", take some advice from my mom and practice your stitches on a scrap of fabric (paper towel works fine if you are short on scraps like me) until you get the hang of your machine, how to keep things straight, how hard to press the foot down, etc. After a few runs you will feel more confident.

Best of Luck to you!
#5 of 13 Old 09-06-2007, 12:37 AM

http://craftersjourney.com/free-skirt-patterns/

some good ideas in here...hope it helps!
#6 of 13 Old 09-06-2007, 01:05 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks, mamas. I am currently working on my first skirt and we'll see how it turns out. I'm afraid I made it too small - oops! But it's not done yet, so we'll see. Great links!

Sarah , wife to Tyson :, SAHM to Landon (5), Coleson (3), and new baby boy due any day!

#7 of 13 Old 09-17-2007, 02:15 PM

nak