What are the biggest more impressive arguments for Pro vaxers? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 433 Old 12-24-2006, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
In light of recent threads, I've begun to really wonder why people who truly research decide to vax?
What are the deciding factors or major pro arguments that lead people to vax ?

I'm honestly not trying to start WW3 here. I like to see both sides to the extreme to see where people are coming from and why some highly intelligent people who really do read and research can come to a completely different conclusion than another? What am I missing here?

Here's me I married then we had dd15 , dd11 , ds10 , and then and now we and I blog!
#2 of 433 Old 12-24-2006, 03:36 PM

I am not a pro-vaxer, but I could see vax'ing based on numbers. If you use the pre-vaccine disease incidence rate and the current day risk of complications, and you compare that to the *known* risks of vaccines, you'd find that *with that info* vaxing looks less risky.
(of course, you'd have to believe that the incidence rate would be the same today as it was prevaccine, and you'd have to believe that all the known risks, are the only risks.)
Ok, so I guess that's a crappy one. But it's the only one I can think of. lol

Becky, partner to Teague, SAHM to Keagan (7yo), Jonah (2yo)

#3 of 433 Old 12-24-2006, 03:52 PM

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
When you break things down, there are still ok reasons to vax for some things. I can see how someone would want to (not on the schedule, though).
The more valid reasons just aren't very compelling. The "fake" reasons are the motivating ones. But they're not true. The real reasons, when you think about them, also show you what a big experiment this whole vax thing is, and how most of the assumptions tend to prove wrong.
#4 of 433 Old 12-25-2006, 01:20 AM