Please help me understand this statement.... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 11-24-2006, 12:28 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok,
So maybe I'm a bit new to all this but so many times I've heard that low immunisation rates jeopardises the entire community - you know, if my unvaccinated daughter catches something then she's putting all the other kids at risk of catching it too. My doctor even supports that.
Is there something I'm missing?? To me it doesn't make sense, shouldn't the other kids be able to drink a cupful of her saliva (just an example, I'm not dishing her saliva up to ppl ) and still remain 'disease free'? Otherwise why are kids being vaccinated if it only works if 'everyone' is vaccinated. I know there's something I'm missing as I don't think my doctor went to med school for so many years that he contradicts himself when trying to put forward an arguement???

And also 'herd immunity' my daughter is only disease free because all the other kids around her are 'protecting' her. I thought she was disease free because she is healthy and hygienic (to some extent ) and that diseases can be spread even through dirt and animals?
Thanks everyone for your help!
Kiah
#2 of 21 Old 11-24-2006, 12:32 AM

I believe the "your child is putting mine in danger" refers to babies and children who are not yet fully vaccinated. I have never heard it used with regard to a fully vaxed kid.

babyf.gif

#3 of 21 Old 11-24-2006, 12:33 AM

We all wonder...

And welcome!!
#4 of 21 Old 11-24-2006, 12:44 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks, and thanks for the welcome. Ok, so it does make more sense (in a medical way) that my un-vax'd daughter could risk the health of another un-vax'd baby, that is assuming she actually has the disease.