Do you ever feel like the only baby wearer? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 27 Old 03-15-2009, 09:23 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I swear I do I have seen maybe 3 mama's the last 20 months that baby wear. I love my MT! I love wearing my tot on my back and letting my DD (3 weeks) sleep when we go out. The looks I get are somewhat annoying and funny at the same time. The other day I was in Publix grocery store. I was wearing DD (20 mos) on my back and was carrying DD #2 in my arms giving her a bottle of BM..wowza if you could have seen this one lady giving my a downright dirty look. I felt so mad that she was just looking at me like that. Are there ways I can find other mama's in my area that love to baby wear? I am kind of new to it all and would love to meet others..lol. Plus I need to get a way for DP to wear our babies..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 27 Old 03-16-2009, 12:59 AM

There are lots of groups listed on thebabywearer.com . You can either hunt for them yourself, or tell us where you live and we can try to contact one for you!

As to getting your DP to wear the babies, has s/he shown any interest in it? Because you can lead a horse to water...but you cannot MAKE a co-parent babywear.

However, taking them to a babywearing meetup where they can try other kinds of carriers, see that there ARE other people out there who babywear, and then letting them get a carrier of a type and colour/design that they LOVE are probably your best bets. Good luck!
#3 of 27 Old 03-16-2009, 01:18 PM

Not really, I feel that I am not the only baby wearer here.
#4 of 27 Old 03-16-2009, 05:00 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Hopefully you will be able to find a babywearing group near you. It makes such a difference to be around others who are like-minded. Plus, you also get to try a bunch of carriers at meetings too!

Giselle, natural living mama to three (and TTC our 4th)
Granola Babies - www.granolababies.com