when can i back carry? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 11-03-2009, 11:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i bought my becco when my DS1 was 9 months old, and wore him front and back all of the time, even pregnant with DS2. i really prefer to back carry because i am so short, that a baby on the front almost completely restricts my arms. well DS2 is only 5 months old, but has great head control, and is very near sitting independently. when can i back carry him? he loves to be in the becco, and i love to wear him, but i am desperate to move him to the back. so when did you all start back wearing with your little ones? also, has anyone ever worn two at a time? DS1 really misses being on my back, but i am usually wearing my little one. do you think i could wear DS2 on the front in my wrap, and DS1 on the back in the becco?
#2 of 10 Old 11-04-2009, 02:01 AM

I started playing around with wearing DD on my back at 10 weeks, and had her on my back daily by 4 months. Some people put their newborns on their backs. You can totally do it! Can you try putting your younger son on your back in the Becco and see how it goes?

Mama lady to my lady baby born 3/09 on the kitchen floor.  Looking forward to seeing which room's floor the next one will be born on in October.  love.gif
#3 of 10 Old 11-04-2009, 04:32 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I started back carries with a wrap around 5 months - definitely could've done it sooner but I was scared of dropping him.

Surviving sleep deprivation one day at a time with dd (Oct '11) & ds (Oct '08).

#4 of 10 Old 11-04-2009, 09:53 AM

I had my dd2 on my back in the Beco at 3 months. I think with a newborn or very young baby who doesn't have good head control and some trunk control, the most appropriate back carry is a high back carry in a mei tai or wrap. But at 4-5 months, if baby is ready, it's fine to try a regular back carry in a wrap, MT, or SSC.