I am new and have a question about slings,please. - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 03-20-2004, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello,
I am new to mdc. I came looking for an answer to a question. I have always held my daughter (she will be 4 months next week),
I also use one of those front cariers. I had never heard of babywearing or slings until a few weeks ago, when I started going online.
My question is: is it to late to introduce a sling. And are they easier to use than the carrier. When she is in the carrier my hands are free, but I still can't use them unless I stand sideways.

Thank you in advance,
Tina
#2 of 6 Old 03-20-2004, 04:14 PM

Hi Tina, I'm Tina as well!

I didn't introduce my ds to a sling until he was about 5 months old. We have a front carrier, and he seemed to like that until about 3 months old. I bought an OTSBH sling, but I didn't use it because I couldn't figure out how. Actually, I didn't try very hard. I had some weird aversion to wearing one...didn't want to look to "earthy crunchy". Heehee My dh kept commenting on how ds would probably love it in there, so finally I busted it out and after a few tries, I had it down. He loves the thing. Serioulsy, I really think he would live in there if he could. He is 8 months old now and still loves it. I have been tempted to wear him all day long to see if he would still be content in it that long, but I haven't made it that far. LOL He is an impossible napper, but he will always fall right to sleep in the sling while I am putzing around. It is very easy to get things done while he is just hanging out. Plus, I am a rather busty mama, so I bought a size large and it is great. Even dh wears it. He is such a good daddy!
If you have a cuddler who loves to be held, I think you will find that she really likes it. It does take a few tries to get it right, but that is fun too.
Hope that helps.
Tina

Tina ~ SAHcarrot.gif- head Mama to -