breastfeeding with a carrier - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 11-10-2010, 09:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi! I'm just learning to babywear with my 2wo and I'm wondering what kind of clothing you use to nurse with a baby carrier? It doesn't seem like you can just pull your shirt up, so how do you do it? I have a moby, an ergo and a ring sling.

mama to my girl (b. oct. 2010), cding, cosleeping, babywearing, trying to ec.
#2 of 8 Old 11-10-2010, 10:09 PM
Banned

Congrats on the new babe!

It definitely takes some experimenting... The first few weeks I just wore a nursing bra or tank and the moby when I was home. Or put a large zip up sweatshirt or something on over to go for a walk. Then as she got older, I wore a deep V-neck and pulled my boob out the top while in the moby.

I didn't get an ergo until dd was older but also can only nurse in t by pulling down a low cut shirt...

Looking forward to hearing from others!
#3 of 8 Old 11-11-2010, 02:44 AM

I either wear a lower cut top or a button up shirt. I find it easier than pulling your shirt up anyways. Probably not great for the shirt, but oh well!

Homebirthing Mama to busy DD (2008), cuddly DS (2010) and midwife to be
#4 of 8 Old 11-11-2010, 06:33 AM

I often wear ruched shirts with a cardigan on top. That way I can half button the cardy on top and pull down the ruched top. Basically anything you can pull down or un-button and flop a booby out of is great for nursing on the go ;o

My DSD FJed my DNH and now we are getting a NFD and a PPO
#5 of 8 Old 11-17-2010, 07:23 AM

As some previous posters already mentioned, a v-neck or scoop neck shirt works well so you can just pull it down a bit over one breast.

Sometimes I will wear two layers and fold one layer up prior to putting the baby carrier on if I suspect DS will be due for a feeding.

Button ups work well too.