Help me find a babycarrier for me, please! :) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 11-18-2010, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm new to babywearing and need a little help, DD is 3 months old and weighs about 12 pounds. I'm 5'8 about 155 pds. I would like a baby carrier that I can use now and up until shes about 2 years old or so. Any suggestions?? I'd appreciate it! Thanks

treehugger.gifMama to a beautiful baby girl diaper.gif.. Ava,   born 8/21/10!  saynovax.gif

#2 of 18 Old 11-19-2010, 08:30 PM

Of all my carriers I find it really hard to pick a favorite. We have a Storchenweige woven wrap, EllaRoo wrap, Moby wrap, UpMama Ring Sling, Hotsling, Adjustable Hotsling, Ergo, Mei Tai Baby and a second generation Beco. If I had to get rid of all but one I think I would keep my Beco.

I LOVE wraps for little babies. They feel so nice and snuggly, but once my DD got bigger the Beco was a huge hit with us. She is 4 and I still put her in the Beco. I find it to be very comfortable for both of us. The newer Beco carrier look a little more accomodating for little babies as well if Im not mistaken.

Second fav is the Mei Tai Baby carrier. I started using this when my DS was 2 days old, and I used it with DD up until she was around 3. they are really pretty with tons of fabrics to choose from.

The UpMama ring slings are really pretty also and very easy to use - though I find having all the weight on just one shoulder gets a little harder as baby turns toddler.

A good starter is the Moby wrap. Of all the wraps I find the ones with a bit of stretch easiest to use - and if you don't like it you'll only take a $50 hit.

thebabywearer is a great place to learn about different carriers, read reviews and buy second hand.

Ah! So many options! Have fun choosing!

jPapa likes this.
#3 of 18 Old 11-20-2010, 08:28 PM