Possibly dumb question about mai tais and other tying carriers - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 12-14-2010, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi,

I'm having my first in April and am trying to figure out all the carrier options. At first I was sure I wanted a structure carrier, but I was just looking at the Kozy site and think they look cool.

Anyway, here's my question: with carriers that you tie on, especially since I would think you'd need to tie them pretty firmly, doesn't the weight of the baby make the knots tighten? I'm thinking it must be a pain to untie them, especially with cotton/canvas carriers like the Kozy.

TIA!

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#2 of 9 Old 12-14-2010, 10:48 AM

I've never had a hard time untying them. While you do double knot the straps you don't have to go through any extreme measures to make sure they are tight. HTH! 

Lauren- geek.gif Hippie belly.gif wife to  S Mum to : babyf.gif D 11/09 and due end of August!

lactivist.giffemalesling.GIFfamilybed1.gifcd.gifhomebirth.jpgsaynovax.gif

#3 of 9 Old 12-14-2010, 11:05 AM

Quoted: 12 Post(s)

I tie mine in a tight shoelace type knot where I can pull the ends and undo the loop part. Holds fine and releases when I need it to. Sometimes I just lift the kid out first before undoing things though, makes it easier.

#4 of 9 Old 12-14-2010, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieCatheryn View Post

I tie mine in a tight shoelace type knot where I can pull the ends and undo the loop part. Holds fine and releases when I need it to.

Duh, why didn't I think of that?

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#5 of 9 Old 12-20-2010, 01:41 AM