Have you tried these pouches? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 04-01-2004, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kinda new here and to this whole thing, so please bear with me.

I have seen lots of reviews of the Kangaroo Korner fleece pouches and was all set to order one, but still a bit leary bc we are having a summer baby.

Then we were in TX on vacation and I saw a woman wearing a pouch (not something we see much around here) so I asked her about it and she said hers was made of hemp fleece so is cooler than what all fleece would be. It was by Mom & Me Creations.
I checked out their site, and they look great, but since I'm new at this I thought I'd ask for input since I hadn't heard of it until then.

We only have about 3 months of really warm weather here, but that's exactly when the babe is going to be born and I'm afraid s/he will be too warm and not like it if I go with the all fleece one.

Any input appreciated!

Lucky Mommy to 1 awesome 5 yr old son , 1 strong minded 19 month old baby girl ::, and 1 beloved angel baby
#2 of 6 Old 04-01-2004, 06:11 PM

I beleive you are talking about the Pea in a Pod pouch, correct?

While hemp is a natural fiber, and therefore more breathable than polyester fleece, I'm still not sure you're going to want that for a hot Texas summer.

My DD was born in July, in Boston, and we had a heat wave that August. I used my Maya Wrap cotton pouch and it was perfect. Very breathable and lightweight.

Honestly, I would recommend one of those. In the winter, I simply wore her in that under XL sweaters and I would wear DH's raincoat and I could keep her warm and dry.

I am, however, going to get a fleece pouch for my October baby on the way. I haven't decided yet on a Pea in a Pod or the KKAFP (see my thread here on that subject! - ugh, tough decisions!!!).

If you can afford it, get both. Or, get the cotton Maya Pouch and you can probably sell it when winter comes.