Patapum opinions for first-time baby wearer? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 04-12-2011, 08:31 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi,

My local crunchy parenting store is clearancing Patapum carriers for $40! The owner said they just don't seem to sell well in the US for whatever reason. She said they are almost identical to the Ergo except perhaps a bit stiffer.

For that price, I don't see how I can go wrong buying one, but because this is my first baby I was just wondering if anyone would weigh in. Before I saw these I was thinking I would go with an Action Baby Carrier once my baby graduates from a Moby. The only hitch with the Patapum seems to be that they are sized--I would get the baby one to start but I'd rather not have to buy another carrier when she outgrows it.

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 04-12-2011, 01:11 PM

Patapum are great carriers!  I think you will be fine with the baby size for quite a while. 

I see that you planning on a moby...which I love for newborns!  But, since it's almost summer you may want to consider a lighter weight wrap, like wrapsody, or a thinner linen blend.

Mama to twins, my little guy, and
#3 of 5 Old 04-12-2011, 01:15 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks! I was worried about the Moby in summer, too, but when I tried it on in the store it really didn't feel too heavy to me. She did suggest the wrapsody but for the price I think I'd like to try the Moby and see how it goes, and then once I get used to wrapping upgrade to something else. The owner said her baby was born the day after my due date and she never had a problem with the Moby--just wore a nursing tank underneath.

I think I will go ahead and get the Patapum--for $40 it's hard to go wrong. But still would welcome any reviews/opinions.