Is Bjorn carrier worth getting? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 26 Old 04-07-2004, 02:36 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello,

I am new to these message boards. I am expecting my 1st in May. I'm contemplating getting the Baby Bjorn carrier and would like opinions on it. I already have a new native sling that I got at my shower. I was thinking it would be nice to have this style also for walks and such. I plan to do a lot of baby wearing. I like to know if it's useful to have a couple carrier styles. I have also got a cheep snugli that I was planning to exchange for the Bjorn. Any opinions on the snugli would be helpfull.

Thanks,
Ahimsa

Mother to two great kids. &
#2 of 26 Old 04-07-2004, 02:41 AM

Welcome to Mothering!

I would personally recommend against both the Baby Bjorn and Snugli front-pack, primarly because the position they hold the baby in is not healthy. See this page for information: Infant Carriers and Spinal Stress.
Carriers that support the baby between the legs should not be used until the baby can sit on his/her own, which is usually near or above the weight limit for most front packs. The New Native will probably serve you very well; if you're wanting another carrier, though, I would recommend looking into an unpadded ring sling like the Maya Wrap.

Good luck and happy birthing
#3 of 26 Old 04-07-2004, 02:53 AM

The bjorn killed my back! I wore it once and gave it away to a friend that didnt have a carrier. She loved it (but her baby was really small, and mine are just big). I also didn't like that it only could be worn on the front. The only carrier of that style that I really liked was the Infantino 6 in 1, I used that one for quite awhile with ds1. I would definitely recommend a Meh Tai or other Asian back carrier for a good alternative....if you do a search on this forum you should find lots of links to different ones
#4 of 26 Old 04-07-2004, 01:47 PM