Had a fall while babywearing, considering a stroller - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 07-24-2011, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've been wearing my 10 mo baby since he was about 6 weeks and on regular basis since he was 4 months. I started with a ring sling and have moved to a gauze wrap for long walks. I've been wearing him for my morning walks for the last 2 months and this morning for the first time, I had a bad fall on the road and sustained a really bad cut on my knee. I can't thank my lucky stars enough because nothing happened to Baby as he was on my back (Double Hammock Carry) and thankfully the arm that came in contact with the ground happened to be covered today (usually not the case). I'm so scar(r)ed now that I'm considering using a stroller regularly!! But both Baby and I enjoy wearing/being worn. Are my fears unfounded? Can accidents happen in strollers too? What safety measures can I take in the future to prevent this from happening again? Have any of you had a similar incident and what did you do about it?

#2 of 15 Old 07-24-2011, 08:23 AM
Banned

I have a stroller and I use a sling.  Different things for different situations.

Do you know why you fell?  Uneven ground?  Rough terrain?  If so, maybe for those situations you use a stroller.  For other situations use the sling.  

So yes, accidents happen in strollers, too.  Just different kinds of accidents.  

#3 of 15 Old 07-24-2011, 08:32 AM

I was just about to say the same thing -- why did you fall?