I need a higher back carry - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 03-30-2012, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

So I've been using a woven wrap for about 3 months now, and after some initial difficulty I settled on the BWCC as my back carry of choice and I'm pretty comfortable with it now.  I can get it on quickly and safely and baby (5 mo) stays wrapped pretty tightly.

I still would like a way to get her higher though.  (She can kind of see over my shoulder but not enough to see what I'm doing very well, and she ends up whining and sinking down on one side because she is trying to see around me.)

I have tried the secure high back carry but I don't really like the asymmetric wrapping method (one strap around the side and the other over the shoulders) because I invariably find that I make one side just slightly looser than the other and then baby finds the wiggle room and gets her arm out and ends up slumped down on that side trying to dive out of the wrap.  Also she isn't really sitting any higher than she does in the BWCC, not sure if that's bc I'm not doing the SHBC correctly or what?

Is there a back carry that wraps symmetrically but sits the baby higher than the BWCC?  Or is there a way to tweak the BWCC to get her to sit higher? TIA

Me, DH, DD1 (5/2009) and DD2 (10/2011).
I'm not crunchy. I'm evidence-based.

Vaccines save lives.

#2 of 5 Old 03-30-2012, 10:04 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

For me, I find it's easiest to get a baby up nice and high with a simple ruck, especially once the baby is past the squishy newborn stage.

Making sure the waist strap is nice and high or tying tibeten also helps.

I think BWCC can be a great carry but because the crosses are coming down over your shoulder the baby naturally ends up lower. I also Double Hammock a lot and find I can get a nice high carry with that too, but it's not as easy to keep them high as with a ruck.