Help me pick a wrap/explain some differances - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 11-16-2012, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm new to babywearing and really excited about everything I"m learning. Being able to clean and feed my son at the same time makes me feel a bit like superwoman :-) Until now I've been using a mei tai and a ring sling. I recently discovered that I love wraps, but when I started looking into picking a couple, I just about lost my mind. What the heck? All the different weaves, materials, styles. Yep, I'm kind of lost. So here's where I'm asking you o help me. The first wrap I tried was a Vatanai (red whales I think). I liked it a lot. Thin enough to tie easily, but still supportive and didn't feel slippery, So I guess what I'm looking for is a cotton wrap that's on the thinner side and can be used in NE Ohio summers (it gets crazy hot here) and preferably winters as well (ditto cold). I plan on wearing my son regularly until at least one year, and then whenever he wants after that. Colorways aren't a huge deal. I like rainbows/stripes and anything with blue/green/watery hues.

Second topic: What differences do you see in a wrap based on the weave? I know the diamond waves look beautiful, ut is there a purpose to it other than that? What are the main differences in the fabrics? Feel free to add any other tidbits you think a new wrapper should know. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 14 Old 11-17-2012, 11:51 AM

Ooooh. I'm looking forward to the responses on this one. smile.gif
#3 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 10:31 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
BUMP orngbiggrin.gif I'd like to know too

Love my 3 boys! joy.gif
#4 of 14 Old 11-18-2012, 12:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by PerfectlyMe View Post