Two slings crossed - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 12-07-2012, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi, all. I'm currently pregnant with my first, so I'm totally new to babywearing. I have fibromyalgia & other back pain issues, so I'm thinking that I'm going to need to use something that distributes the weight evenly on both shoulders, like a wrap. I came across the "two slings crossed" method on the comparison chart on thebabywearer.com, but I can't figure out exactly how it works, and I can't find a picture. Is it exactly what it sounds like? Do you put the baby in the place where the slings cross? Does it apply to ring slings or pouches or something else I don't know about yet?  Or is it for two babies? Thanks.

#2 of 9 Old 12-19-2012, 10:47 AM

This is how to use 2 ring slings on one baby from the paxbaby youtube channel:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KlBUBMaRuKI

I would definitely recommend a high quality woven wrap (over ring slings).  My son's 30 lbs now, and I still can carry him easily on my front in my woven without any pain (Carrying on the front tends to get more uncomfortable than the back sooner).  If I were you, I would definitely get something at least a size 5 (4.1 m) or larger depending on your personal size, that way you can do multi-layer carries to provide more support.  I'm 5'5'' and 120 lbs, and I can do most of the basic multilayer carries with a 5 - you may want to start with a size 6 if you're larger.

#3 of 9 Old 12-20-2012, 11:17 AM

Hi coldinaugust,

I've never heard of the "two slings crossed" method, but I wanted to share my own experience dealing with a slight scoliosis.