Best type of carrier to grow with baby? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 07-18-2013, 05:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Okay, I'm very new to babywearing and I need advice from some Mama's who know. We can only afford to get one carrier, what is the best type to work for NB into toddlerhood? I was thinking a wrap, Moby is the one I know best. But will that support a toddler? Would a ring sling be better? And what brands would you suggest?
#2 of 11 Old 07-18-2013, 12:24 PM

I'm not so much a pro as man ohters here (I've only used a Moby, ring sling and a Boba) but I would recommend the Boba with infant insert. The Moby was GREAT. I loved it, really, but it has a bit of a learning curve and then by the time I had it down it was really hard to wear my daughter for long (by 18 lbs I was like "erg, there has to be a better way...").  It is approved for a higher weight than what I used it for, it just got too hard. The Boba has been fantastic, is way easier to get on and off (and her into and out of), we both love it, but I never used the infant bit so I can't "review" that. 

If you think you'll be able to buy a second one after the first year then I think a Moby will get you through, though, and has a lower price point. 

Good luck!!! :)

#3 of 11 Old 07-18-2013, 06:11 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)