Leg circulation cut off - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 04-29-2004, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, this is my first time in this forum and I wish I had thought about posting this sooner! I finaly got a Pea-in-a-Pod sling that I bought used off the TP then had hand dyed. Well after about 2 months of waiting I get it and I hate it. Ok, I don't hate it but it doesn't seem to work for us at all. : The site looked so cute and I thought I would love it. My poor son gets the circulation to his legs cut off when I try to hip carry him in it. His legs literaly turn purple (thanks to my DH for pointing it out). I can't find any other position that my son fits into and that is comfortable. He is only almost 5 months and 17 lbs, so he's not huge. I am just so because I really wanted to be able to wear him. I carry him on my hip now but my arms can only take so much.

Ok, so I guess my question is: Has this happened to anyone else with a pouch sling? Is it just me? Am I doomed? Should I try a regular sling? : Ok so thats like 4 questions.
#2 of 14 Old 04-29-2004, 12:41 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Sounds like the pouch is probably too small. You either need a larger pouch or need to try an adjustable sling.

coffee-drinking caffix.gifsocial worker in HIV/AIDS ribbonred.giflady-loving ribbonrainbow.gifbike-riding bikenew.gifmom of two twins.gif
#3 of 14 Old 04-29-2004, 12:49 AM

Yes, I had this happen with a KKAFP. I emailed the owner and she said she'd never received any similar complaints but was willing to refund me the $ if I wanted. Well I kept the pouch because I kept thinking I could make it work but nope and the leg issue was just one of a couple of problems I had with it. However I have no problems with our maya wrap or our OTSBH both of which work well for hip carries.
#4 of 14 Old 04-29-2004, 01:28 AM

hi hunnybumm,