Newbie here wondering what works best for a newborn? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-09-2004, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Well, we've got a medium Maya pouch. It's beautiful, but I can't even begin to figure out how the heck a little tiny newborn will lay comfortably in it, much less breastfeed. We did watch the DVD & practiced with a doll, but that didn't really help. I can see where the Maya pouch may actually work better for us once the baby is a little older, but unless it's easier with a live baby I can't see us (especially DH) using it with a newborn.

Anyway, what do all you BTDT mommies recommend for carrying a newborn around? I have carpal tunnel in both arms (not severe, but bad enough), so being able to carry the baby without having to hold them constantly is really important.

TIA!

Holly
EDD 9/16 #1
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-09-2004, 10:41 PM

Holly,
You can use rolled up receiving blankets on either/both sides/under feet to help prop baby up

FWIW, I loved my Kangaroo Korner adjustable cotton pouch when Neve was wee little newborn.

HTH
Old 06-10-2004, 01:44 AM

If you can find an *good fitting* maya pouch ...old style I would really really reccomend these! they are light and comfy and your babe does not get lost in the fabric...that said Maya wraps can be used quite well with a newborn...is there anyone near you who slings? who could show you how?
Old 06-10-2004, 12:55 PM

Yep, I am due in Sept. and I can't wait to use my Kangaroo Korner Adjustible Fleece Pouch www.kangarookorner.com and my Hug A Bub www.hug-a-bub.com.au/

The great thing about these two is that they have some give which keeps baby very close to you and snuggly. Plus the fabrics are super soft. There is a world of difference between a woven pouch and one with some give to it. It just holds them very securely. And when my little one comes it will be getting cooler, perfect weather for the fleece