ellaRoo Mei Tei VS. BabyHawk - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 02-22-2006, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,
Can anyone tell me the basic differences between the EllaRoo Mei Tei and the BabyHawk carriers? It looks to me Babyhawk simply offers more fabric choices? I am thinking of purchasing one of these carriers as well as an EllaRoo wraparound. I am hoping the first carrier will tide me over while I learn to use the wrap - I am a COMPLETE novice and not very good at things like that This is for my 3 week old daughter and possibly my 3 year old son.

Thanks!
Tara
#2 of 4 Old 02-22-2006, 08:58 PM

IMO, the EllaRoo and the babyHawk are similar in size. The ERMT is a bit lighter weight, less shoulder padding, but very nice. I happen to really love babyHawks, and yes, Robyn has the best fabric selection ever. I am not sure, but the straps might be angled differently? It really comes down to personal preference. The EllaRoo wraps are really nice, too, and really not that hard to learn. Good luck!
#3 of 4 Old 02-22-2006, 10:45 PM

Personally I would go for the Babyhawk XT or another large-bodied carrier like a Kozy over the Ellaroo, which is a short-bodied carrier. You can always roll the bottom on a large carrier to make it shorter, but with a short carrier it's hard to snug up the baby or bigger kid esp. when they fall asleep and start doing that head-bob thing.

I have a BHXT and love it but if I could have only one MT it would be a Kozy - I find it supports baby's head better when asleep. (Or when baby has no head control still.)