ergo not working out, rec another a carrier? - Mothering Forums
Babywearing > ergo not working out, rec another a carrier?
luckygreen713's Avatar luckygreen713 02:01 PM 06-10-2008
I've been wearing my 4 mo in the ergo on my front for the past week or so and I'm really liking it but now its starting to hurt my shoulders. I am small and I think my shoulders are too narrow for it. The shoulder straps seem to want to slip off my shoulders, even though I have the chest strap buckled across my back. I've tried sliding it up a little higher and tightening it so it holds the shoulder straps closer together but it doesn't seem to help much. Does anyone else have this problem?
Can anyone recommend a carrier that might work better for me?
I have a mei tai that I soooo want to love, but I just don't. I also have a few wraps, some stretchy, some woven. I like them because they're comfy but I've been wearing one for the past 4 months and I'm sick of wrapping now. Thats why I was liking the ergo, because its so quick and easy to get on and off, especially out of the house for running errands. I also like that I can wear it front or back.
So what I'm looking for is a 2-shouldered carrier that I can use front or back, that is fast to put on, and that would work well on a small frame. (I'm 5'3", 120-ish, narrow shoulders). Does my perfect carrier exist?
TIA

pixiepunk's Avatar pixiepunk 02:44 PM 06-10-2008
what kind of MT do you have? they are all different - it might be that you'd prefer one that was larger bodied/smaller bodied/more angled straps/less angled straps/etc.

and what don't you like about the MT? maybe a 'buckle tai" with a buckled waist belt and MT straps would the way to go?