Please help me decide!! Ergo vs Beco... - Mothering Forums

View Poll Results: Ergo or Beco baby carrier??
Ergo is the best 10 37.04%
Beco is the best 16 59.26%
They're both equally good 1 3.70%
Voters: 27. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-17-2008, 04:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, I am totally new to babywearing etc...

I have an Ergo organic baby carrier on order, it seems like a very good carrier.
But now I read about the Beco baby carrier (eta: just to be clear: I mean the Beco Butterfly), and that seems awesome too... and I've found a place where I can order it (I'm in Belgium) so I'm trying to decide which one to get!! (I can probably cancel my Ergo order if necessary, or send it back).

Which one do you prefer overall, and why?

How do they compare in regards to..

- quality of the fabric? softness etc.
- healthy for baby's back/neck/pelvis...?
- ease of use? (easy to put on/take off/put baby in/out)
- ways to use it: front (facing out?), back, hip? Also for very young babies (say, 1 month old)? If I understand correctly, with the Ergo, the child can be worn on the hip, but with the Beco, the baby can face in OR outward when worn in front?
- bulkiness, could I put it in the diaper bag?
- ETA: Breastfeeding: is it possible to nurse the baby while it's in the carrier?
- sleeping: is it comfortable for the child to sleep in? (The Ergo has a special hood or something,?)
- ETA2: comfort! For baby (are the leg holes big enough etc?)? For mama?
- other things you can think of?? pockets etc to you can maybe put a diaper, or your keys, phone etc? Anything that makes you totally love the Ergo or the Beco?

It's primarily for "city use", I don't go hiking often or anything so probably for shopping, around the house, etc.

Thanks very very much in advance for any answers :

Mommy to DD bouncy.gif born August 2008 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-17-2008, 09:41 PM