Teen mom not allowed to bf at school! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 68 Old 10-09-2009, 11:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ladies, I'm pretty new to mdc so I hope I'm posting in the right spot but I need some input. My friend shared with me that her mil, a nurse at a NJ high school, has a 14 yr old student with a new baby. The student's baby will attend the school's on site day care but the school will not let the mother leave her classes ten min early to bf her baby at the day care. At all. No exceptions.

I do not understand this at all! How is that even legal? Here we have a 14yr old mother who is trying to make the right choices for her LO and the MEN in the school's administration are telling her no?! Makes me sick. My friend and I have offered our pumps to that poor young mama but I can't imagine being in that sort of situation. It will be so difficult for her to continue her bfing relationship with this obstacle!

Loving mama to ds C (6/07) and dd N (11/08). Joyously welcomed our rainbow1284.gif, dd2 A (8/11).

#2 of 68 Old 10-09-2009, 11:37 PM

well.. this may be an unpopular opinion, but she may have to do like the rest of us that work or go to school and schedule her study halls so she can nurse before school, at studyhall at lunch maybe a second study hall and at the end of the day. I know when I was in HS 2 study halls/ day were the max.

I know I have to pump at night at home for DS's bottles during the day. You have to do what you need to do and not expect people to make special accommodations for you because you are breastfeeding

she could also look into ECOT or whatever your state calls online highschool. (I don't know if it's an Ohio thing or what) My youngest sister does it and is about to graduate a quarter early.

I'm crunchy... Like a Dorito.
Mama to Sprout jog.gif 4.09 and Bruises babyboy.gif 7.11 handfasted to superhero.gif 9.07

#3 of 68 Old 10-09-2009, 11:48 PM