I apologize - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 06-26-2011, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Background-

I work as a phlebotomist, and on Sundays I work at the "main" facility where we see a wide variety of people.

Today, a mother brought her daughter in.  I don't know the child's age, but I would guess around 1 year of age.  The child was nervous about being at the facility, so mama started breastfeeding the child in the waiting room.

I was drawing another patient, so one of the other phlebotomists called the mother back.  The mother continued to breastfeed the child.  I walked my patient out, and saw her breastfeeding as she waiting for the phlebotomist to come back with the orders the doctor faxed in.

Well... my fellow phlebotomist was upset and flustered that the mother was breastfeeding.  I offered to take over, but she refused.  And I hate to say it, but her attitude colored the care she gave.

So... to all the mamas out there who are given sub-par care because someone can't get over themselves or move on from the fact that you are breastfeeding- I am sorry.

Proud Catholic transtichel.gif(28) and mama to Vdust.gif (7)

#2 of 8 Old 06-26-2011, 06:34 PM

Very valuable post. I work in health care too, and have yet to experience this personally. But I think it needs to be acknowledged. 

A + J = Miriam (November 2006) and Raymond (June 2010)
#3 of 8 Old 06-26-2011, 06:37 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Wow. Did you say anything to your coworker?

Flowers, fairies, gardens, and rainbows-- Seasons of Joy: 10 weeks of crafts, handwork, painting, coloring, circle time, fairy tales, and more!
Check out the blog for family fun, homeschooling, books, simple living, and 6 fabulous children, including twin toddlers

#4 of 8 Old 06-27-2011, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter

Other than that I would take the patient and her mother if the breastfeeding bothered her, no.