Things NOT to say to your nurse. - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 09-18-2011, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello!  I'm new to Mothering and so forgive me if I post this in the wrong forum, but I'm looking for some information.  I have an 18 month old toddler who is still breastfeeding and about 5 months ago I had a bit of a 'run-in' with a local public health nurse and I'm hoping it doesn't repeat itself.  I had brought my son in to her office for his 1 year innoculations (at this point he was 13 months) and during the 15 minute wait after the injection I breastfed him, which started a conversation about his food intake.  She asked how much solid food he was eating at this point, and I, maybe stupidly, told her that he had just started to eat solid foods at about 11 months old.  Up until 11 months, he was exclusively breastfed.  My husband and I were treated to a lecture on how we were starving our child of essential nutrients and so forth, and that children HAD to start solid food at 6 months.  I think at some point I tried to defend myself from her accusations that he was unhealthy by saying that she had just weighed and measured him and he was clearly hitting not only every physical but every developmental milestone, was not exhibiting any signs of hunger, and in fact seemed to be a very content baby.  I also mentioned that I HAD offered him, multiple times, baby food.  Homemade, store-bought organic, more solid, it didn't interest my son in the least.  At 13 months he was eating a very little bit, but certainly nothing like the amounts she recommended in the food guide she sent home with us!  In fact, at 18 months he still doesn't eat that much!  Now, we are first time parents so we did attempt the food guide, going out of our way to purchase what was on it and try and force our son to eat more, but after maybe two days I realized that this wasn't how I wanted mealtimes at our house to be, an