National Breastfeeding Awareness Week - "BREASTFEEDING CELEBRATION!" - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-02-2012, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
National Breastfeeding Awareness Week is celebrated each year during the first week of August. This year we are organizing a "breastfeeding celebration" at the local Whole Foods to help raise awareness about the importance of breastfeeding (AND to rebuke the negative publicity that the Time magazine article imprinted on the world). 

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to plan  this type of event?
This is my first time planning one.  I started a FB page to handle all of the responses I'm anticipating.
Any ideas on marketing and press releases?  Should I contact the store manager at Whole Foods and let them know our plan, perhaps they will be interested in supporting our cause too?  Any words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks.

I'm based out of the Boston area.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-03-2012, 07:59 PM
Administrator

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)

Subscribing to the thread for ideas and info. thumb.gif

Old 07-03-2012, 11:54 PM

Yay for nurse-ins!  Just curious... why Whole Foods in particular?  My initial thought is, "you'll be preaching to the choir, honey".    

Good luck with everything! orngbiggrin.gif

married to my best friend ; Proud mama of one fine boy and one fine girl !!!!
Old 07-04-2012, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks!  Hoping more mama's post some ideas here!  Is there a way to link this to my FB page for the "nurse-in?"

Old 07-04-2012, 10:51 AM
Administrator

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)