Brides Magazine... I can explain! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-15-2006, 11:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I bought one to snip pics of up-dos for clients (I'm a stylist). I happened across the Aask a bridesmaid" section - p.232 of the May/June issue. I paraphrase....

Q. My bridesmaid wants to have a tailor cut slits into her dress to allow her to BF her newborn. She will cover the cost & says it will not affect the look of the dress.

I quote the first sentance:

"This isn't about altering the gown. It's about what is (& what isn't) appropriate at a formal social occasion."

They go on to suggest the bride set up a nursing "station" in the "corner of the dressing area or the ladies room"

Letters, ladies?

http://www.brides.com/services/contact?c=1&g=Contact+Us
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-16-2006, 12:32 AM

: If she doesn't want babies 'ruining' her big special event why the he// doesn't the bride just flat out tell her friend not to bring her baby and let her friend tell her "sorry then, not coming".

Bridezilla much?
Old 05-16-2006, 12:38 AM - Thread Starter

I hear ya. God forbid an all important wedding be inturrupted so rudly by someone nurturing the future & showing an ultimate example of love. A wedding is NOT the place for THAT kind of thing.
Old 05-16-2006, 12:46 AM

Letter sent!
Old 05-16-2006, 01:12 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapphire_chan
Bridezilla much?
:

sapphire-chan, i just love your responses.

anyways, thanks to the op for pointing this out. letter sent!
Old 05-16-2006, 01:15 AM

Eating is not appropriate at a "formal social occasion??"

~Marie : Mom to DS(11), DS(10), DD(8), DD(4), DD(2), & Happily Married to DH 12 yrs.!
Old 05-16-2006, 01:17 AM - Thread Starter

Another good point. I assume there will be no food (or drink!) at the reception!
Old 05-16-2006, 01:22 AM