Vitamin D for moms and babies - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 1 Old 04-17-2003, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I posted in the rickets thread, but I wanted more people to see this, so I started another thread.

I have been coming to these boards for three years, under a different user name previously. I used to post a lot, but now I mostly pop in from time to time and read. I wanted to say that in case someone questions my motives because if you look at my total number of posts, it is low, and you might think, who is this woman and what is her motive.

I am very troubled by what I think looks like a knee jerk reaction by Mothering to the recommendation about vit D supplementation for breastfed babies. I am posting some links that will take you to more information on this subject from the Journal of Pediatrics excerpted on Dr. Mercola's website.

I started learning about vit D when my mom was disgnosed with osteopenia. Vit D is NOT a "true vitamin," it is a horomone precursor. And unless mom has enough, baby will not have enough. Most North Americans have vit D deficiency, African Americans in particular. This is why there has been some incidence of rickets in African American babies.

NO ONE is saying that breast milk is not the best food for babies. NO ONE is saying that formula is better than breast milk. The best way for baby to get enough Vit D is not to supplement baby (the AAP is wrong on this), it is to supplement mom. Problem is that you can take too much D, so you have to be careful.

Obviously breastmilk from a mama who eats McDonalds 24-7 is going to be better than formula. But breastmilk from a mama who eats properly is going to be even better.