Postpartum Recommendations? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-26-2004, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Any recommendations for the mama aspect of things after baby arrives? Pad reccomendations (cloth or sposies, which brands)? Herbal peri-wash solutions? Anything to help the healing process? Did you sleep on anything special to protect the bed from leaks (both lochia and milk)?

I guess nursing bras and pads fit under this category as well. I feel much more prepared in that area though since I've been nursing ds for 3.5 years now, but feel free to make suggestions related to that too!

Thanks in advance!

Mama to ds 11, ds 7, dd 5, dd 2, and dd born on 6/17/12!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-27-2004, 11:06 AM

Newbie here, sorry no recommendations. But I know we have some very knowledgeable mamas who will help us out!

Anna Banana ~5 year old daughter ~3 year old son one angel baby and expecting July 2010
Old 08-27-2004, 04:40 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
This is your second? Liquid calcium-magnesuim. Afterpains are so much worse with second and subsequent than with the first. I found them almost worse than labour, since they come during nursing and you're stuck in one position. I don't want to fear-monger, but I really wasn't prepared for how bad they would be after #2. This time, I had the cal-mag, but I also took some ibuprofen, which the mw recommended, but I don't think it helped as much as the cal-mag. I was still a super grump if anyone tried to talk to me or touch me when I was having those afterpains.

Also this time the mw gave me mesh panties to wear to keep very large pads in. If you use cloth diapers, a prefold in a pair of those would be very comfy for after the birth.

Mom to DS(14), DS(12), DD(9), DS(6), DS (4), and DS(2)  

***4***8****13***17***21****26***heartbeat.gif****35****40

Old 08-30-2004, 07:04 AM