Mothering Forum banner

Pubic Bone Pain? Separated Pubic Bone

39K views 15 replies 15 participants last post by  falafala 
#1 ·
The last week or so I've been getting this pain and ache around my pubic bone - did a Google search and found out it can be a common preg. affliction. Chiropractors and Cranial Sacral Therapy might help with this. Thankfully it is not severe, but I am worried it may become much worse.

I have no experience here and was hoping that someone knew something or had some experience with this before! Any exp. with Chiropractors or Cranial Sacral Therapy? I know a lot of people don't put a lot of faith into this stuff.

#2 ·
My midwife highly recommends visiting a chiropractor for adjustments during pregnancy. I just had my first appointment yesterday, so I don't have a lot of experience yet.

If you have a midwife, ask her to recommend a chiropractor. Otherwise you'll have to call around. You'll want one who is experienced with pregnancy. It is a good idea to see one.

Jess

#3 ·
I know chiropractic scares a lot of people- but it can help immensely.

On the other hand, cranio-sacral work is VERY gentle- the touch is so light, and the work is amazing. Many chiros do CST too.

Your pubis symphysis could be separating (ouch), but you also could just be out of balance and it might not take to much to get your pelvis back in shape.

i second the PP opinion that you find someone who works with pregnant mamas and is gentle.

Good luck!

#6 ·
If you have PSD, I strongly suggest you get treated by a chiropractor to prevent it getting worse.
Even if it`s not what you have, a chiropractor may rule it out and give you heads up on what it is.
You`ll also be able to get excersise advice and do`s and dont`s in you daily life routine.

I know that it is not common for PSD not to be accepted by many dr`s world wide and also in the US, hopefully the laggers will catch up soon.

#7 ·