Thinking about doing Medifast. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 04-14-2011, 11:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I'm toying with the idea of doing Medifast.  Any reviews?

I'm normally opposed to things like that, but the "just eat better and move more" plan never really works out for me.  I always seem to need some sort of strict plan...and then I do keep it off. (I'm trying to get the baby weight off before it's time to get pregnant again)  I did weight watchers...did really well, dropped 25 pounds in 10 weeks, but then all of a sudden I just couldn't bring myself to constantly keep track of everything.  I just couldn't.  So, I thought the strictness and simplicity of medifast might be good.  A friend just did really well on it. I'm just normally the "organic whole foods" type of person so it seems a little odd, but it's only short term.  

#2 of 5 Old 04-14-2011, 11:27 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

When I worked as a nutritionist in a weight loss spa, I sold a lot of Medifast programs.  Like you already know, it's not the healthiest way to eat.  But if it means losing some weight, then I think the pay off can be worth it.

The only problem is after you finish the program.  You can gain that weight right back if none of your lifestyle habits change.  So maybe try and use the time that you're on it to find something that may work for you long term.  A diet program, eating type, exercise you like, etc.  Many people are different and what works for some wont work for others. 

Good luck. :)

Melaya (29) - Mom to Z (9) and soon to be I (due Nov 2013) stork-boy.gif

Birth mom to M (7), O (5), & C (2). winner.jpgnovaxnoIRC.giftriadadopt.jpg

#3 of 5 Old 04-16-2011, 08:42 AM

Are you planning on staying on medifast for the rest of your life? That's the only way it will work long term. You've already learned that 'diets' stop working when you stop adhering to them.