Help with running schedule w/ baby! Thanks! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-09-2011, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello ladies! I'm new to MDC and just discovered this forum - I'm hoping you can offer me some advice here! Sorry in advance for the long post! smile.gif

DH and I would like to start jogging for exercise / fitness. We have a 6-month-old DS and a jogging stroller. DH works a standard Monday - Friday schedule (he's gone 7a - 5:30p, and he takes the bus so those times are pretty set). I mostly stay home with DS but I do work 2-3 weekends / month (daytime hours). We'd like to do a couch to 5K and run 3x/week. We'd prefer to run together at least until we finish the couch to 5K program, so that we can keep each other company and stay motivated.

Our issue is figuring out when during the day is the best time to run! As we see it we have four options: 

1) Wake up at 5:00am three days/ week and run before DH goes to work. Major issue there is that would involve waking a sleeping baby (he would NOT transfer asleep to the jogging stroller that time of day), which just seems wrong to us. The major pro to this is that we used to work out in the mornings before we had DS and we really enjoyed it, so I know we could do it / stay motivated / etc, but waking up DS to go running 3x/week just seems ... wrong, and I worry about it screwing up his whole day. 

2) Go in the evenings right when DH gets home from work (5:30). The major con there is that DS tends to fall asleep in the jogging stroller, and a "nap" that time of night would probably screw up his whole night (he's a challenging sleeper as it is ..).