Mothering Forum banner

help with shin splints!

1K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  myk 
#1 ·
I have been exercising for about 2 months now and can not get terrible shin splints to go away. I have them severely in both shins. If I run or jump rope ect. it hurts for up to 2 weeks. We did lots of sprints in the class on Wed and I could barely walk Thur and ended up skipping Fri. : (

I have tried stretching, stairs, "babying" them. I need them to go away! What works?!

#2 ·
This is straight out of high school track: run backwards to get rid of shin splints, it sounds dumb and you look even dumber but it can work... I used to get them when I was running short distances because of the hard fast impact, probably why you also get them from jumping rope. Be a little springier in your step and make sure you go heel to toe. i tend to run on my toes now and run distance so I haven't had problems. Good luck.

#3 ·
I had this problem my first 3 months of working out. I think my muscles were just to weak for what I was doing. I just pushed through it and rested when it got really bad. I applied ice packs right after working out and put on some Bengay. Eventually they just went away.

#4 ·
Thanks for the replys!

I when they sprint in class I have been sprinting backwards now. lol I am hoping it helps. Today in class we had to run laps so I was trying to run as gentle as possible and as soon as I felt it start to hurt I went back to speed walking. I am hopeful I am on the road to getting these things gone for good!

: )

#5 ·
Shin splints are caused by weakness in the anterior muscles of the lower leg, particularly in the ecentric contraction phase. Stop doing all impact activities, it's the only way to fully heal. Then build up lower leg and ankle strength. Train your heels to "stick the landing" and NOT leave the floor during exercise. Essentially, you need to strengthen the "braking" skills of your lower legs.

BeFit-Mom

#6 ·