Eat before exercising? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 04-02-2012, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I meet a group to do intense exercise at 5:30 am 3 days a week. I normally don't eat before because I am not hungry yet. I am wondering if that is ok or if it is making my body think it is getting starved so not burning as much fat as it would had I eaten before.

I am very new to all this working out stuff lol.

~Katie~ married to J, mom to DD- A 13 yrs ,DS- L 7yrs , and my little nursling DD2- R 5yrs.

crochetsmilie.gif

#2 of 5 Old 04-02-2012, 07:49 AM

Whenever I'm about to do something crazy (like Crossfit type of exercise) I have a banana or a piece of whole wheat toast with peanut butter on it about an hour prior.  I find if I don't, I have the shakes very badly afterwards.  But if it's something like power yoga, I can do that on an empty stomach. 

lovestory.gif   And on 09/23/2011, we were three;  husband, daughter, and me!

#3 of 5 Old 05-18-2012, 02:30 AM

Well I guess that's not correct to eat before

#4 of 5 Old 05-18-2012, 12:35 PM

If you feel ok while exercising, not light-headed, weak, and you have enough energy to exercise, then don't eat. Exercising in a fasted state means that your body will use fat stores for energy. Just refuel well after your workout. Check out Mark Sisson's posts about this. If you do feel too weak to exercise, try a whey protein shake - it digests quickly and won't interfere with working out.

treehugger.gifgoorganic.jpggd.giftriadadopt.jpgfamilybed1.gif

#5 of 5 Old 05-20-2012, 01:00 PM

I think most hard core exercise gurus will tell you to eat about 30 minutes or so prior to a hard workout.  My friend sees an exercise endocrinologist, and he swears that not only must you eat before, you should consume certain calories during, as well.