Extremely tight hamstrings/hips/glutes!! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 05-29-2013, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi everyone,

I've been exercising regularly for about 5 months now.  I run twice/week, and do power yoga twice/week.  I also do regular yoga most days.  This along with a mostly vegan diet has allowed me to slowly drop 25 lbs!  biggrinbounce.gif

But as of about 3 or 4 weeks, I've been having this weird problem with my legs.  The backs of my legs ache terribly, and I have really tight hamstrings. It hurts to stand up and to walk.  My hamstrings, hips and glutes feel like they're literally locked up, and this is AFTER I've been progressing steadily in yoga and can even now do a full split (well, nearly...)  I've increased my flexibility greatly, but this problem is really putting a damper on things.  I've been paying a lot of attention to my legs when stretching...trying to get them to loosen up.  I've even gotten 2 massages!  Muscles and tendons still feel all locked up and achy.

What gives?

Any advice?

Thanks!

Loving mother, Devoted Wife
#2 of 7 Old 05-29-2013, 01:42 PM

Quoted: 21 Post(s)

There are many mineral deficiencies that can cause this, such as magnesium deficiency, and even general sodium deficiency.

#3 of 7 Old 05-31-2013, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter

Can you make a suggestion for me?  Is there a way to be tested for magnesium deficiency?

I eat a banana nearly every day.  But I'm ashamed to say that lately, that's been practically my only (raw) fruit/veggie. I've been living off of pb & j sandwiches, cereal with almond milk, whole grain spaghetti with marinara sauce, and hummus/cashew cheese with triscuits.

I'm guessing it wouldn't hurt to be more purposeful in getting fruits and veggies...?

But this pain is getting really bad!  It keeps me up at night and hurts worse in the mornings. 

#4 of 7 Old 05-31-2013, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter