The Bible on Circumcision - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 39 Old 10-29-2010, 11:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So...right now I'm reading the New Testament. And It talked about circumcision. Can someone explain this to me, why would God have someone Circumcise themselves?

Also, I'm not really good with debating why circumcision is wrong, but I would like to be better at explaining it to people. I don't want to come off ignorant, I guess I'm just not a confrontational person. My friend thinks circumcision is for hygiene. I did tell him to do his research though.

Can you guys help me better understand the subject?
#2 of 39 Old 10-29-2010, 11:28 PM

We are not supposed to talk about religion on the board, but to try and steer in a different direction, I would say that the bible is one thing, and says a whole bunch of stuff about a wide variety of topics that some agree with and some don't. Circumcision for religious reasons is an entirely different ball of wax. The vast majority who circ in America do not do it for religious reasons at all, but for what boil down to simply cultural preferences. My preferred description of it so far is sort of a "tribal" thing (which is a good way to describe the biblical origins too), like tribes that tattoo or practice scarification. People keep doing it because they feel it will make them part of the tribe. That is the reason, plain and simple. The rest is smoke and mirrors. There are just no medical benefits strong enough to outweigh the numerous downsides to the procedure, which is unnecessary at best, and mutilation by many standards.
PuppyFluffer likes this.

Mom to Delia  (5/25/07) and Alex  (4/10/10) and 2 spoiled kitties
#3 of 39 Old 10-29-2010, 11:36 PM