Any Buddhists out there? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 06-27-2011, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Hey. I'm just getting my feet wet with Zen Buddhism.  I am loving every minute of it but I'm still new at this and would love to have someone to talk to.  Anyone out there?

Kris: "auntie" to W (7yrs)  and Z (5yrs)

→Waiting to start my own little family←
#2 of 13 Old 06-30-2011, 09:58 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)

(Dead silence!)

I'm sorry no one has answered your post in the affirmative.  I can't either, but I want to encourage a bit more postings on Eastern religions.  I am fascinated by the Buddhist faith, the little that I know about it.  Like Christianity, it's core message is beautiful and simple and succinct.  But, like other religions, there is the addition of ritual and the myriad stories (especially in Buddhism) that attempt to clarify but only muddy my understanding of the point.  My experience with Buddhism is mainly through the writings (quite reverent of Buddhism) of Joseph Campbell, a few slim books, and way too much caffeine-driven-coffeehouse-jibber-jabber.

I keep wishing that I could find a local, in-person forum for discussing faith and spirituality and the experience of the divine, but I have just found Church.  Ah, well.  I hope this post keeps yours a little closer to the top for a while, and I look forward to seeing more of them in the future!

"Let me see you stripped down to the bone. Let me hear you speaking just for me."
#3 of 13 Old 07-01-2011, 04:10 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)

I think that there is a Buddhist Tribe in Spiritulity

#4 of 13 Old 07-01-2011, 11:32 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nazsmum View Post

I think that there is a Buddhist Tribe in Spiritulity

Yep, we're over there--come join us!

Mama to DD (06/30/07).
#5 of 13 Old 07-22-2011, 12:27 AM

Hi!