What is the Orthodox Church? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 92 Old 04-18-2004, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Can someone explain to me what the orthodox church is? And how are say the Greek Orthodox different from the other Orthodox churches??

Is a blending of Catholocism and cultural beliefs?
#2 of 92 Old 04-18-2004, 10:06 PM

One shot at an answer.

It goes back to Constantine, 4th cent CE. He moved the capital of the Roman Empire to the east (better situated for trade) and named the city after himself, Constantinopolis.

At one time, there were 2 competing popes of the church (and a gnostic pope of the non-orthodox church system as well).

Whole there are religious differences, I think the split was more political.
#3 of 92 Old 04-18-2004, 11:41 PM - Thread Starter

What are the differences between the modern Orthodox churches.
#4 of 92 Old 04-19-2004, 10:24 AM

nak

I studied Russian Orthodoxy in some detail in college...in 1054 was a major schism that produced eastern Orthodoxy centered in Constantinople and western Christianity that recognized the pope. While there were several reasons for the schism, a lot of it had to do with icons and their place in worship (whether they qualified as "graven images"). The eastern church had refined iconography to a religious art, and the western church very much believed the people were worshipping pictures.

As far as I know, the major differences in the churches are that each is done it its own language, i.e., Russian Orthodoxy (Pravoslavie) is performed in Old Church Slavonic, which is an old Slavic language. I don't know about Greek, but I know there are Greek Orthodox, Bulgarian Orthodox, etc.

They don't recognize the Pope in Rome, but I think the cohesiveness of the Orthodox church fell when Constantinople did (became Istanbul, now a Turkish, mostly Muslim city, I believe). That's when each of the national church groups took on their own leadership etc.