Arg!!! Bible and spanking...again... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-13-2006, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So I'm in a bit of a debate with a friend about what God has to say about spanking...and I of course, had this awesome debate...then he goes he throws this in my face:

There are two specific Proverbs passages that I studied that I cannot get beyond to say that physical correction (spanking, etc.) is not biblically consistent. The first is Proverbs 22:15 which reads (from the NKJV):

"Fooishness is bound up in the heart of a child; The rod of correction will drive it far from him."

Earlier in this section is the familiar verse discussing training up a child in the way they should go, and when they are old, they will not depart from it (Proverbs 22:6). I find it hard to translate this concept of correction of with a rod as anything but physical reprobation. Again, I do not find it proper biblical hermenutics to interpret this as merely symbolic.

Furthermore, the strongest passage is Proverbs 23:13-14. It reads,

"Do not withhold correction from a child, for if you beat him with a rod, he will not die. You shall beat him with a rod, and deliver his soul from hell."

And I asked him if he really thought that in bibletimes parents hit their children with shepherd's rods...and if so, shouldn't parents of today hit with shepherd's rods instead of their hands...couldn't this be an analogy??? He hasn't responded to me...but what do you think about those two passages in relation to gentle discipline?

I hope this is ok...I just didn't know where else to talk about it--It's so frustrating to have Christians justify this kind of violence, in the spirit of "God says so"...when I feel that the completely opposite approach is correct.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-13-2006, 11:57 AM