High-altitude challah with a breadmaker - Mothering Forums
Nutrition and Good Eating > High-altitude challah with a breadmaker
alexsam's Avatar alexsam 03:28 PM 02-26-2009
Anyone have a good challah recipe for a breadmaker? And, any tips for high-altitude? We are at about 5,000 ft and any bread that spends any time NOT in the breadmaker comes out a rock... I was hopng to find something where the breadmaker goes through the kneading and the first cycles and all I have to do is take it out and braid it and do the final bake...

Please be explicit with tips, directions and recipes . I'm new at this and the altitude has really impacted my confidence because it really messes with baked things .

Faliciagayle's Avatar Faliciagayle 08:31 AM 02-27-2009
hmm, I've never had to bake challah at a high altitude, but this is an interesting article on the kinds of adjustments you'd have to make.

Basically, decrease baking powder and sugar and increase liquid. Eggs count as liquid so that's a plus for challah!

There's a chart in the article which should be helpful
BabyFireFly's Avatar BabyFireFly 03:30 PM 12-18-2011

Hey there,

I know this is an old thread....but I have been making the most amazing Challah in my breadmaker and I'm in the Catskills....not usually considered "high altitude" for baking since we are just a shade over 1500 feet, but I seem to have the same issues as people baking at the higher elevations none the less. This recipe is for challah as a loaf, not braided, though I guess you could take it out and braid then bake.

This makes (1) 2-lb. horizontal loaf:

Ingredients

1 cup milk (I use whole milk, just a shade warmer than lukewarm)

3 fresh eggs (try your very hardest to get the freshest eggs possible, you cannot compare the flavor of farm fresh to store bought - you want nice orange yolks)

1/4 cup Safflower Oil

1/3 cup Sugar

2 tsp. Salt

4 1/4 cups Bread Flower

2 tsp Active Dry Yeast