The salad dressing ingredient was gelatin, made from cow hooves. McDonald's also has been sued by a vegetarian, for using beef extract to flavor their fries.
It is true that the "vegetarian" options in most food chains actually do contain trace amounts of animal products. It is true that they're not organic and may be GMO. If you are a real purist, then yes, you must not even step in there.
But if you are someone who tries to eat less meat out of concern for the earth and your health, and you find that difficult when you're on a turnpike or in a strange city and don't have a wide choice of restaurants or the option of eating homemade food, then a veggie burger or a salad does contain LESS meat than a hamburger and is therefore a BETTER, if imperfect, choice.
Also, if BK has a veggie burger, then people who might not otherwise try veggie burgers will try it. Then, even if they are not being 100% saintly vegans, they are eating LESS meat and doing at least a LITTLE bit to help the earth. And it might even happen that they'll like veggie burgers so much that they'll start wondering if they really need meat in their tacos and on their pizza and in their omelets and so on, and maybe they'll change the way they cook at home and start demanding more veggie choices from their favorite restaurants. Change begins slowly. I think this is progress.
Mama to a boy EnviroKid
10 years old and a little girl EnviroBaby
I write about parenting, environment, cooking, and more.